ATTN: IOWA BLOGGERS!

Hey everyone!

I’ve noticed that a lot of other states have blogger communities made for their states. But I haven’t found any for Iowa.

Basically we’d put a button on our blog that linked to something as simple as a list of Iowa bloggers to a Facebook page to a whole separate blog with features. Now I don’t really have time to deal with a whole second blog, so I’m thinking we could start a list and/or a Facebook page.

Since most of the blogs I connect with from Iowa are ag/farming related and will be the ones to read this; should it maybe be strictly for ag/farming blogs for promoting Iowa agriculture? (I’m thinking no restrictions that way we can connect with everyone.)

What do you guys think? What are your ideas?
If you would like to be an admin or help design the button, just let me know by commenting or using the contact me link at the top of the page.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Also, be sure to pass this on to all the other Iowa bloggers you know!

14 thoughts on “ATTN: IOWA BLOGGERS!

  1. I’d love to do this, but as you said, I would like it to be more like an Iowa Agriculture blog. That way people who are looking to read about agriculture know they’re in the right spot! πŸ™‚

    • Sounds great! Be sure to refer any Iowa bloggers you know :). I’ve had people message me that they are wanting it to be open to any Iowa blogger, but suggested it be more ag focused. That way everyone’s included but we’re still promoting ag.

      So are you thinking Facebook page or something else? Most people are against a whole other blog, because of not having enough time.

  2. Hey Brandi! Great idea! You can make a FB community or private page and invite certain individuals. You can do it so that you can only be invited to see/be part of the page, or you can make it an open page so that anyone can look and see. A few of my fellow farm mom’s in MO have one and we ask questions, share ideas and inquire about one another. We are the only ones we can see and post on it. Best of luck connection with more Iowa bloggers! Have you met Val at http://cornbeanspigskids.blogspot.com/? She is an Iowa gal.

    • Thanks Laurie for sharing my info. I will let you know Brandi that there is an Iowa Blogger facebook private group that has all types of Iowa Bloggers included in it. People pretty much share blogger opportunities on it, as well as posts from time to time. People also use it as a forum to get answers and ideas to blogging questions.

      Also, I don’t know if you know “Sincerely, Jenni” but she has put together a list of Iowa bloggers on her blog: http://sincerelyjenni.com/iowa-bloggers.

      I don’t know what you all want out of the group but I think what you are looking for is a combination of these two things. Also, both of these things are for “all types” of bloggers. So maybe the thing to make it different would be to put together an Iowa ag blogger facebook page. I think of groups like “the Real Farmwives of America”: https://www.facebook.com/TheRealFarmwivesofAmerica and http://realfarmwivesofamerica.com/. This group of ladies just share their blog posts with the shared site on some type of schedule and I know all the ladies that are in Indiana get together once a year and do something special. But if you do something like that you’d still need a couple people being administrators for the group.

      Looking forward to seeing what you plan on doing! Keep me posted and I’d love to help.

      • It seems the vote is leading towards a strictly Iowa Ag Blogger group, and for now probably just a Facebook page where we can share our posts, questions, ideas, comments, etc.

  3. OK, so does anyone have ideas for a name? Iowa Ag Bloggers? Iowa Ag Blogger Connect? Iowa Ag Bloggers Unite? Throw your ideas out there, please πŸ™‚
    Also, does anyone want to design a button? Anyone with design experience? Otherwise I’ll do it, but my skills are basic.
    Thanks guys!

    • We’ve decided on being open to everyone! We kind of have a common goal of promoting Iowa ag, but are writing about everything! More of a rural woman from Iowa & their lives theme πŸ™‚ If you are interested in being an actual contributor I can set you up, or if you’d rather just like the page/comment/read through posts that’s fine too. Just let me know what you’re up for!

Leave a Reply

