Agvocates – helping or hurting the industry?

Yesterday on a fellow blogger’s Facebook page, The Farmer’s Wifee, she brought up this question. She stated that during the last week or so she had heard from several sources that ‘agvocates’ are doing more harm than good. My response to this question is as follows:

As a fellow agvocate I feel we are important, but I can see how sometimes we hurt the industries. We need to let people know the facts, we need to support ag, and we need to support each other. Instead of posts bashing Carrie Underwood, HSUS, Peta, etc. we need to have post with facts & reliable sources to back us up showing that they are doing the harm. We want people to listen to us but we can not force them. It’s OK if someone likes Carrie Underwood, we don’t need to attack them. Because seriously Carrie Underwood is not that great of a threat to the ag industry. Yes, she donated money to HSUS, but still. I’m using CU because this has been a hot topic lately, or at least on my feeds. And sometimes we have to realize someone is going to have their opinion and we aren’t going to change it no matter how much we yell, scream, stomp our feet, or type. Because I see it a lot – bloggers acting like 2 year olds demanding everyone agree with their opinion. I know many people have poor attitudes and opinions towards agriculture and we just need to do the best we can to inform the public about the truth and importance of agriculture. Mainly, we just need to stay professional.

How do you feel about this question and my answer? How do you feel about agvocates? And as she asked on her blog; How are we doing? Have you learned anything from us? Have we taught you anything? Have we changed your minds on anything? Do we show a positive face to agriculture? I would love to hear from anyone and everyone about their point of view of the issues facing agriculture, including agvocates.

10 thoughts on “Agvocates – helping or hurting the industry?

  1. Interesting points.

    Posts with facts and reliable sources are good, but research has shown that consumers don’t listen to us unless we make it relevant to them. Including Carrie Underwood grabs their attention and makes it relevant.

    I hope it didn’t come across as if I was behind the screen stomping my feet. That was not my intent. My intent was to inform consumers of HSUS’s real goal and CU’s supoport of it. I read up on the issue a LOT before writing, and found out that even though CU has been directly asked about her involvement in HSUS, she has never denied it nor has she denied being anti-animal agriculture.

    To answer The Farmer’s Wifee’s questions at the bottom – I can’t speak for all “agvocates,” but I know my blog is making a difference. I’ve had many comments from readers telling me so! I’ve also had long email conversations with readers who wanted clarification on some things they’d heard. Those are the things that keep me blogging and talking about agriculture!

    • Including Carrie Underwood grabs their attention because it pisses them off. They don’t want to all of a sudden learn the truth about farming, they want to rant & rave in the comments about how you’re an awful person. No doubt I’m sure there were a couple of people who learned that CU supports HSUS and no longer like her. But I don’t think our job as agvocates is to make people dislike a country singer, there are much bigger issues to deal with. Our job is to let people know the issues, the truth, and how to help.
      My response has nothing to do with your post on CU specifically. I don’t know about your feeds, but mine are full of CU posts.
      In answering her question I was getting at that we need to stay professional (act like this is an actual job) because when we start acting like the people with the negative comments we loose credibility and trust.

  2. I really enjoy learning from all of you about agriculture. I think it’s important that we write about what’s important to us and speak authentically and I think this is what Katie was doing in her post about Carrie Underwood.

    I may or may not agree with someone’s viewpoints, but I think it’s important to understand where someone’s coming from and their perspective. You are all doing this in your own unique voices and, as someone whose lived in a big city most of my life, I love learning about the agriculture industry from people intimately involved in it.

    • Like I said before I was not in any way singling Katie or her post out. And I just used the CU posts as an example.
      I was simply pointing out ways I thought could be a reason people were saying advocates were harmful to the industry.
      For example I am also a nurse. If someone is having health problems related to obesity I’m not going to tell them to get their lazy fat ass up and exercise. I’m not going to tell them they’re lazy. I’m not going to attack them. I’m going to explain to them how to live healthy, how to exercise, diet plans, risks of be obese, go over their labs with them, etc. I’m not going to embarrass them or be rude because then they won’t listen. I feel this applies to agriculture or any industry for that matter.

  3. Interesting questions, and difficult to answer. Solutions require a delicate balancing act of tactics. So much of what I read is more centered on farm lifestyles, not so much about the agriculture industry and the ups/downs. It is good to get the exposure for farming lifestyles, as it can better humanize the profession, but that doesn’t lend too much aid to the scientific defense of GMOs and such. I wouldn’t say that agvocates are hurting the industry, though. From what I read (and I follow a lot of these blogs), there is a very positive, communal front coming from the agri-blogosphere

  4. Great way to highlight the interesting facts about our “Ag Representatives” like Carrie Underwood. If you are going to be in the Country/Ag world, I believe that you need to support the actual meaning behind it. Great way to focus on such a high powered topic! I just started a blog about ranch life in MT after a move from SD. Check it out if you have the opportunity! http://www.themontanaranchadventure.com

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2013. | Lipstick & Tractors

Leave a Reply

