Housewarming Gift Basket.

Kyle’s sister and brother-in-law recently bought a new house and are hosting a housewarming open house soon. I wanted to give something that she (they) would be sure to love without spending a fortune. I decided on a gift basket (well not technically a basket), because who doesn’t love a gift basket!? They are definitely one of my favorite gifts to receive! They enjoy cooking and she prefers whole wheat, organic, and healthy food options. So I decided to go with a pasta dinner basket.

Here’s what I included in my basket:
Threshold Metal Colander (Target)
Barilla Whole Wheat Pasta (I was originally going to use spaghetti but it didn’t look right because the package is tall & thin.)
Organic Pasta Sauce
Two small cookbooks (one of pasta dishes, one of salads)
*UPDATE (1-25-14): I found these cute gift tags from Darling Doodle Design, so I added the first one tied to the pasta sauce with some string.

IMG_0212

It was so easy to assemble. You just have to arrange everything so that it looks nice and ‘works together’. I put the noodles in first, then the sauce, followed by the cookbooks. You can assemble them anyway you’d like though! If I get to the craft store I will by some raffia string in two compatible colors and tie a bow around the strainer. You could use ribbon or a Christmas bow if you’d like, but it’s cute enough without adding any extra décor!

IMG_0211IMG_0210

The best thing about gift baskets is that you can choose the items and arrange them any way you’d like. Other items you could use include: artisan bread, olive oil, balsamic vinaigrette, wine, spice rubs, etc. Or you could go with a totally different theme like hot sauce & beer. Maybe they enjoy game night, make a baskets with cards, dice, and a board game. What ever the specific couple likes. The possibilities are endless!

6 thoughts on “Housewarming Gift Basket.

  1. I do gift baskets all of the time for presents and I think they are a fabulous idea. I love your idea of using the colander as the basket! Cute, cute, cute. They will love it.

  2. Very cute. I too love putting together fun gift baskets like this for different occasions. My last housewarming “basket” I made was for our new tenants and included things like outlet adapters (because it is an old house with just two-prong outlets in all the rooms in the house besides the kitchen and bathroom), a flashlight, nail hole filler, goo gone, extension cord, power strip, and a subscription to our local newspaper. I put it all in a cleaning bucket. We also put a case of beer in the fridge and a package of bacon in the freezer for them…

Leave a Reply

