Happy Valentine’s Day!

Image

I get kind of sick of hearing people whine about Valentine’s Day and how stupid it is. Yes, I get that it’s commercialized and insane that the cost of flowers quadruple. But it doesn’t have to be about expensive meals or flowers, it shouldn’t be about those things. It should be about your significant other. Not in a relationship? That’s OK make it about the people you love; your mom, sister, best friend, etc! We actually celebrate unconventionally anyways! We always do a little something and get each other a little gift. Sometimes we go out to a nice dinner and sometimes we opt for somewhere we won’t want to wait an hour to eat! As far as flowers, sometimes I get them sometimes it’s something else. But you better believe he doesn’t spend $120 for 12 roses and a tiny teddy bear – and I don’t blame him! I read online (on FB or a blog, I don’t remember) a girl had a complete meltdown because her boyfriend bought her a plant rather than a bouquet -seriously!? The roses will die within a week, the plant will last well until you kill it. But anyways I’m just happy I have the best Valentine forever :). I love you, Kyle.

7 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. We’re similar over here. All relationships deserve a little treat. My husband goes to the National Farm Machinery Show in Kentucky each year, and while he’s hugging cold, lifeless tractors, I have learned to enjoy Valentine’s differently. We exchange a little sweetness with each other (I am always sufficiently Valentined by my man – details none-ya:o) LOL, but then I have all week to Valentine the godsons, my closest farmwife friend, my bachelor brother, etc. I’ve grown to love how creative and independent I can feel at this holiday.

    P.S. As an extra sweetness this year, he told me to go shopping for a few kitchen gadgets I’ve been wanting. Soo fun! Kitchen store here I come! Hope he finds an implement he can drool over, too! (o;

  2. I never get anything except an extra long hug, and I am okay with that. February is a busy time of year for us because it is when most of the major Texas livestock shows fall. I know I am loved, no need to spend a bunch of money on flowers or gifts. By the way, I would rather have the plant, too! 🙂

  3. Aw…sweet post! I know there is a lot of Valentine bashing going on out there and people just need to give it a rest! Everyone can do what ever they want to and should not be judged!!! Gee whiz!!! I think the focus should be each other—not what you can give or get one another. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

