May 2014 Ipsy & Birchbox Reviews.

I feel like I haven’t blogged in forever. I’m still alive if you were wondering. My schedule at work just sucks and I’ve been so busy lately, but I’ll try to make more time to blog! Today I’m going to review the Ipsy & Birchbox beauty subscriptions, I know I really suck at posting these during the month I receive them! At least it’s only the 2nd :).

Let’s start with Ipsy. Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription box. Each month you get 4-6 beauty products inside a makeup bag. If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, I’d appreciate you using my referral link. It arrives each month in a pink bubble mailer!

This month’s theme was ‘Fresh Picks’, just in time for Spring. So this is what I go this month:

20140602_165256

Avene Thermal Spring Water. Basically it’s a spray on hydrator/toner. I was really excited to see this in my bag! I’ve always wanted to buy the Evian version (only one I knew about) but I didn’t want to spend $15 for spray on water ;).

Calvin Klein Endless Euphoria. I’m not the biggest fan of receiving perfumes in these boxes because I have my go to scents. But I was happy to see that this wasn’t just one of those little vials and it smells decent so that’s obviously a plus.

Eva BYC Therapy Session Hair Mask. As I’ve mentioned before in other posts I’m getting married next year. I want to grow my hair and long as possible for that. So I was happy to see a mask rather than a shampoo/conditioner. Haven’t used it yet, so I hope it works. It smells fantastic!

Jersey Shore Tan Sans Tan Anti-Aging Sunscreen. Not excited about sunblock, but not upset about getting it because everyone got some version of sunblock. It’s also one of those products everyone needs. I’m not going to buy a $30 bottle but I don’t mind sampling it. I told myself I’m going to be better about wearing sunblock this year – so here we go!

Pacifica Mineral Eye Shadow Duo. A brownish and a creamish color. A nice shimmer to both colors. Probably not a shadow I’d pick out at a store but it’s not terrible.

I was pretty happy with the items I got this month. Although I already have it, I would have liked to receive the Too Faced Chocolate Soleil bronzer – mainly just because of the price. But was happy to sample products new to me. The bag this month was canvas with a green leaf print. I love that it was canvas but I wasn’t the biggest fan of the design, but again it wasn’t terrible.

Now on to Birchbox.

Birchbox is a beauty subscription box for $10/month. If you’d like to sign up please CLICK HERE to use my referral code and get signed up! This month’s theme was ‘Freewheeling’. Not going to lie, I don’t even know what that means.

This is the content card that is included in each box.

20140602_165106

And this is what I got:

20140602_165007

Gilchrist & Soames Spa Therapy Body Lotion. Smells OK, seems to work fine. Happy with it.

Smarty Paint All-in-One Gummy Vitamins for Adults. Not a beauty product so not impressed. I actually take gummy vitamins, I use Vitafusion Women’s Complete Multivitamin. They taste better and you only have to take 2 gummies daily, unlike these where you have to take SIX.

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner in Silver. I was happy to see this! I wish it was in black though. I don’t really ever wear non-black eyeliner.

No. 4 Volumizing Shampoo & Conditioner. Smells pretty good, but I haven’t used it. Still not really a fan of getting shampoo & conditioner but oh well. They acted like they were doing me a huge favor including the foil packet of conditioner. Woo-hoo.

Marcelle BB Creme Golden Glow. Why, oh why. So many BB creams. This one sucks even more though because it’s too dark for me.

I am NOT a fan of Birchbox including a non-beauty relating product in the last two boxes. Kind of a deal-breaker, Birchbox. I didn’t subscribe to get vitamins and gross health bars. It was an OK box. I feel the boxes are declining again.

 

2 thoughts on “May 2014 Ipsy & Birchbox Reviews.

    • A year next month. The points system is nice but overall I haven’t been that happy with the boxes. I am working on a ipsy vs birchbox post.

Leave a Reply

